Menu
loyalty points

More and more diners are talking about cutting back on the amount of meat they eat. It’s time to take a long look at your menu – are you providing the right options to cater to this shift? And do they stand out well enough?

A proportion of your diners may already be avoiding meat for religious or ethical reasons, but increasingly concerns about health, and impact on the environment, are driving the momentum behind ‘plant-based eating’. Some diners want to flip the balance by putting less meat and more veg on their plates. Others won’t cut meat out of their diet altogether but might be switching from red meat to healthier options, such as chicken or fish. Others are cutting animal products from their diets altogether. Show them that YOU get it by reflecting these changing priorities on your menu.

Make it obvious
Vegetarian menu option


Don’t hide your vegetarian and vegan choices in a separate section. Take the effort out of ordering meat-free by labelling the vegetarian and vegan dishes on your menu. You can do this easily with symbols and a key. Alternatively, you can design your dishes to be flexible to allow you to simply remove a meat item from the final dish if a diner asks for it!

The same applies to the online world – don’t forget to update your menu on your website and social channels so that anyone researching menu options beforehand knows they will be catered to.

Cater to vegans

This is not as challenging as you think! Yes, you’ll lose some weapons in your cooking arsenal that give food richness and texture – butter/ghee, cream, eggs for example – but this is an opportunity to rethink your approach.

Clue up your staff the difference between vegetarian and vegan dishes too, so they can confidently advise your customers. They need to know that they can trust you.

  • Vegetarian means free of meat or animal products (Animal products can come in many surprising forms, including jelly-based products commonly used when cooking).
  • Vegan means free of meat and animal products and all animal-derived products, such as cheese, honey and eggs.
Make the most of going meat-free
Delicious meat-free burger


Meat-free is mainstream! If you want to shout about your evolving menu, you can run special events such as ‘Meat-free Mondays’ or have a month where you promote (and discount) vegan dishes to draw attention to what you’re doing.

Try to include at least one vegetarian or vegan option on your specials board. Let them take pride of place in your main menu. Add meatless dishes to your chalkboard outside the premises to help drum up passing trade.

Push the plant proteins

‘Plant proteins’ have become a bit of a buzzword, so where you can, big this up on your menus. You can also draw attention to other plant-based benefits such as the calorie count, or that your plant protein is low fat or contains ‘heart-healthy’ fats. This might really swing it for some diners.

Experiment with "meatless meat"
Meatless meat substitute dish


Some diners going meat-free will still crave the taste and texture of meat. There are loads of new and not-so-new meat-alternative products vailable that make convincingly meaty burgers and sausages, ‘chicken’ and deli-style ‘meats’, such as tofu, tempeh, seitan, soya chunks and mycoproteins. This is a plus point, not something to hide – so promote it on your specials board, and through your social media. You can also use ingredients with a naturally ‘meaty’ texture, such as pulses, mushrooms, aubergine and jackfruit.

Make your menu sing

In your menu titles and descriptions, go big on the lip-smacking tastiness of what you’re offering! Put some time in to how best to word your dishes – try to tease the diner with your descriptions. Remember, however delicious your dish is, if it doesn’t sound appetizing on paper, it won’t convert to orders. For this reason, have an outside party review your written menu to make sure it’s as captivating as it can be. And while the health-factor is definitely a draw for some, not everyone is looking for the low-calorie virtuous option when they eat out. Any health benefits should be presented as an added bonus.

Add your secret touch
Plant-based pasta dish

Going meat-free does not mean losing out on flavor, or putting lots of extra work in. Get some inspiration on how to add flavor using herbs and spices and make use of quick-fix products that will add an irresistible umami flavour, such as Knorr Lime Seasoning and Knorr Vegetable Stock that make your plant-based cooking shine.

Menu
نقاط ولاء

عدد كبير من الزبائن بيحاول يقلل أكل اللحوم. فلازم تراجع قائمة مطعمك وتسأل نفسك – هل المطعم بيوفر أصناف كافية تناسبهم؟ وهل الأصناف دي كويسة بالشكل الكافي؟

نسبه من زبائنك ممكن يتجنبوا أكل اللحوم لأسباب دينية أو أخلاقية، لكن المخاوف الصحية عند البعض وتأثير أكل اللحوم على البيئة أصبحوا العوامل الرئيسية اللي بتشجع الناس على الأكل النباتي.  الزبائن بيحاولوا تغيير نظامهم في الأكل عن طريق تقليل اللحوم وزيادة الخضروات في أطباقهم، و بعض الزبائن اتجهت إلى أكل الدواجن أو الأسماك كا حل بديل للحم الأحمر. ويوجد بعض من الناس التي تقوم بإلغاء المنتجات الحيوانية من نظامهم الغذائي نهائيًا. أظهر لهم أنك مدرك بمطالبهم من خلال قائمة طعام مطعمك اللي بتقوم بتوضيح التغييرات في أطباقك الرئيسيه.

Make it obvious
Vegetarian menu option


لا تقوم بمحاولة إخفاء الأكلات النباتية في عمود منعزل عن باقي الأكلات. ساعد زبائن مطعمك في الحصول على وجبات خالية من اللحوم عن طريق وضع علامات على الأطباق النباتية في قائمة الطعام. ممكن تعمل ده بكل سهولة عن طريق وضع رمز أو تصميم أطباق مرنة يُسمح بإزالة اللحوم منها بناءاً علي طلب الزبون.

ينطبق نفس الشيء على الإنترنت – متنساش تحديث قائمة طعامك على موقعك الألكتروني وقنوات السوشيال ميديا علشان يعرف أي شخص بتصفح  الأختيارات المتاحه له في قائمة الطعام قبل الطلب.

Cater to vegans

الموضوع مش بالصعوبة اللي أنت متخيلها! صحيح هتفقد مكونات قوية بتستخدمها في الطبخ تعطي نكهه للأكل وشكل رائع زي الزبدة والكريمة والبيض، لكن دي فرصة أنك تبتكر طرق جديدة في الطبخ.

وضّح لفريق عملك الفرق بين الأطباق النباتية والأطباق النباتية الصرف اللي مينفعش تستخدم فيها المنتجات الحيوانية، علشان يساعدوا الزبائن في اختياراتهم بشكل أفضل. من الضروري ان الزبائن تثق في مطعمك.

  •  النباتي معناه أنه خالي من اللحوم والمنتجات الحيوانية (المنتجات الحيوانية ممكن تكون في أشكال غير متوقعة زي المنتجات الهلامية اللي بنقوم باستخدامها دايماً في الطبخ.
  •  النباتي الصرف معناه أنه خالي من اللحوم والمنتجات الحيوانية والمنتجات المشتقة منها مثل الجبنة والعسل والبيض.
Cater to vegans
Delicious meat-free burger

 

قم بالاستفادة من صيحة الأطباق النباتية على قد ما تقدر! انتشرت الأيام دي فكرة الأكل النباتي، لو عايز تعلن عن قائمة طعامك الجديدة، ممكن تقوم بابتكار أيام مميزة بيها زي "يوم الاثنين النباتي" أو تقرر لمدة شهر  بإعلان أطباقك النباتية و تقديم خصم عليها علشان تجذب الأنتباه لأكلك النباتي.

قم بأضافة على الأقل اختيار نباتي في قائمة الأطباق المميزة. خليهم في مقدمة قائمة طعامك وكمان ممكن تضيف أطباق نباتية علي لوحة الأطباق خارج المطعم عشان تشد انتباه الناس وتروج لأطباقك أكتر.

Push the plant proteins

"البروتين النباتي"  جملة رنانةو منتشره، قم بتوضيح أنك بتقدم أطباق فيها البروتين النباتي، ممكن كمان تبين أهمية الأكلات النباتية زي قِلة السعرات الحرارية أو أن البروتين النباتي قليل الدسم أو أنه فيه دهون صحية ومفيدة للقلب وده ممكن فعلاً يشجع زبائن كتير على النوع ده من الأطباق.

Push the plant proteins
Meatless meat substitute dish


 

من الممكن أن يشتاق بعض الزبائن لطعم اللحوم ومذاقها، ففي أنواع كثيرة جديدة ومعروفة من المنتجات البديلة للحوم اللي ممكن نعمل منها البرجر والسجق وبيبقوا شبه الفراخ أو اللحوم سريعة التحضير مثل التوفو والتمبيه وجلوتين القمح وقطع الصويا والبروتين الفطري. تقديمك للأطباق دي هتكون عامل مساعد للمطعم وعلشان كده قوم بإعلان عن المكونات في قائمة الأطباق الخاصة وعبر قنوات السوشيال ميديا. ممكن كمان تستخدمها مع مكونات لها قوام تشبه اللحوم مثل البقوليات والمشروم والباذنجان وفاكهة الكاكايا.

Experiment with "meatless meat"

في عناوين قائمة طعامك ووصف الأطباق، أتكلم عن غناء طعم الأطباق اللي بتقدمها! خد وقتك وفكر في أفضل وصف تتكلم به عن أطباقك – حاول كمان تشوّق زبونك أنه يجرب الطبق بطريقة كلامك عنه. افتكر أنه مهما كان الطبق اللي بتقدمه لذيذ، مفيش حد هيقوم بطلبه إلا من خلال وصفك الموجود في القائمة، و للسبب ده وجود طرف خارجي مهم لقرأة قائمة الطعام المكتوبة لتتأكد أنها في أحسن صوره. وعلى الرغم من أن فكرة الأكل الصحي فكرة جذابة لبعض الناس، في ناس تانية مش بتركز في الاختيارات المفيدة اللي سعراتها قليله. ممكن كمان تضيف الفوائد الصحيه على إنها ميزة إضافيه.

Add your secret touch

تحضير طعام نباتي خالي من اللحوم مش معناه أنه هيفقد طعمه أو محتاج مجهود زيادة عن باقي الأكل. قم بإيجاد بعض الأفكار لتضيف نكهات مختلفة باستخدام الأعشاب والتوابل واستخدام المنتجات السريعة اللي بتضيف مذاق لاذع لذيذ مثل كنور تتبيلة الليمون الحامض و كنور بودرة مرقة الخضار اللي هيخلوا أكلك النباتي له طعم تاني متألق.