Keeping in tune with the latest foodservice beverage trends in Arabia, it is clear that tea is firmly on the agenda.  Not only are consumers starting to select which restaurant or café to visit by their beverage offering, but there is an indisputable rise in the health conscious consumer. 

For better cross selling and upselling, make sure your staff are well versed in the types of tea and their health benefits. We know you are busy, so here is a quick refresher:

Black tea

Black tea

Made with fermented tea leaves, black tea has the highest caffeine content. It is also used as the basis for flavored teas like chai. Studies have shown that black tea may protect lungs from damage caused by smoking. It also may reduce the risk of stroke.

Green tea

Green tea

Made with steamed tea leaves, it has a high concentration of antioxidants which may interfere with the growth of many types of cancers. Studies have also shown that green tea may prevent clogging of the arteriesburn fat, counteract oxidative stress on the brain, reduce risk of neurological disorders like Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases, reduce risk of stroke, and improve cholesterol levels.

Rooibos tea

Rooibos tea

Strictly speaking, rooibos is an infusion, not a true ‘tea’, as it’s made of the twigs and leaves of the rooibos bush rather than tea plant leaves.  According to WebMD, Rooibos tea has 50% more antioxidants than green tea, which means it works even harder to fight cancer. It’s also rich in Vitamin C, low in tannins and may ease digestive problems. Many women in Japan drink this tea for its positive effect on the skin and hair. Because it’s caffeine free, it may be drunk without limit and won’t affect sleep cycles or cause insomnia as with some other popular teas.

Fruit and herbal teas

Fruit and herbal teas

These aren’t strictly teas, but a wonderful collection of aromatic herbal infusions that have created a tea culture all their own. From chamomile tea to peppermint and fruit blends, there’s a large range of brews available to tempt any palate.

Iced teas

Iced teas

When the weather gets a little warmer and you need instant refreshment, there’s nothing better than iced tea to do the job. As simple to make as it is enjoyable to drink, and preserves all the positive health benefits as listed above. For some great iced tea recipe inspiration, check out our Fresh Brewed Ice Tea recipes.

At the Lipton Institute of Tea, we have done some research of our own on the health benefits of tea. Download the Lipton Tea & Health Report and keep it handy in your establishment for easy reference.

تماشياً مع أحدث التوجهات في عالم المشروبات لسنة 2016 في قطاع التموين، بات واضحاً أن الشاي يحتل القائمة وبقوّة. فالمستهلك أصبح يختار المطعم أو المقهى وفقاً للمأكولات والمشروبات الصحية التي تحتل قائمة الطعام. 

لكي تتمكّن من بيع منتجات جديدة إلى المستهلك ومضاعفة مبيعاتك في الوقت نفسه، احرص على أن يكون طاقم العمل لديك على إلمام بأنواع الشاي المختلفة وبمنافعها الصحية. وبما أننا نعلم أن جدولك حافل بالأعمال، قرّرنا أن نمنحك لمحة سريعة على أفضل 5 أنواع شاي ومنافعها: 

الشاي الأسود

الشاي الأسود

الشاي الأسود مصنوع من أوراق الشاي المتخمّرة ويحتوي على أعلى معدّلات الكافيين. كما أنه يُستعمل كأساس في أنواع الشاي المتعدّدة النكهات. وبحسب الدراسات، يتمتع الشاي الأسود بالقدرة على حماية الرئتين من الأضرار التي يسبّبها التدخين. كما أنه يساهم في تخفيض خطر الإصابة بسكتة دماغية.

الشاي الأخضر

الشاي الأخضر

مصنوع من أوراق الشاي غير المتخمّرة، يحتوي على مستويات عالية من مضادات الأكسدة التي تحول دون تطوّر عدة أنواع من أمراض السرطان. وأثبتت الدراسات أن الشاي الأخضر قد يحول أيضاً دون انسداد الشرايين، ويحرق الدهون، ويقاوم الإجهاد التأكسدي في الدماغ، ويخفض خطر التعرّض للأمراض العصبية مثل الألزهايمر والباركنسون، كما يخفض خطر الإصابة بسكتة دماغية، ويحسّن معدّل الكوليسترول.

شاي رويبوس

شاي رويبوس

بصراحة، لا يمكن اعتبار شاي رويبوس من أنواع الشاي الأصلية، بما أنه يحتوي على أغصان وأوراق نبتة الرويبوس عوضاً عن أوراق نبتة الشاي. وبحسب موقع WebMD، يحتوي شاي روبيوس على مضادات الأكسدة بنسبة 50% أكثر من الشاي الأخضر، أي أنه يتمتع بمزايا أقوى لمكافحة أمراض السرطان. كما أنه غني بالفيتامين C، ويحتوي معدلات منخفضة من التانين، ويساعد في عملية الهضم. تشرب النساء في اليابان هذا الشاي نظراً إلى تأثيره الإيجابي على البشرة والشعر. وبما أنه خال من الكافيين، يمكن احتساؤه بكميات كبيرة من دون أن يؤثر في ساعات النوم، أو يسبّب الأرق على غرار أنواع الشاي الأخرى.

الشاي بالفواكه والأعشاب

الشاي بالفواكه والأعشاب

 لا يمكن اعتبار هذه الأنواع من الشاي بشكل كامل، إلا أنها مجموعة مذهلة من الأعشاب العطرية التي تطوّرت لتكوّن زراعة بحدّ ذاتها. من الشاي بالبابونج، إلى الشاي بالنعناع وخليط الفواكه، تتعدّد النكهات التي ترضي كافة الأذواق

الشاي المثلج

الشاي المثلج

عندما يطل موسم الصيف وتشعر بالحاجة إلى مشروب منعش، ننصحك باحتساء الشاي المثلج. إنه سهل التحضير ولذيذ للغاية، ولا يفقد منافع الشاي الصحية التي ذكرناها سابقاً. للحصول على أفكار لتحضير الشاي المثلج، اطلع على وصفات الشاي المثلج الطازج.

أجرينا بعض البحوث حول منافع الشاي الصحية في معهد ليبتون للشايقم بتنزيل التقرير حول شاي ليبتون والصحة واحتفظ به في مقر العمل لتتمكّن من الاطّلاع عليه في أي وقت.